DarKtears

or Alexis Menard in the real world.

Me and KDE, a story of love

Leave a comment

Before starting my story, i can explain what is KDE for people who don’t know this wonderful world.K Desktop Environment is a free software project which is a powerful system for a desktop environment. It provide a lot of desktop functions and applications for daily needs.You can visit the website to discover what is KDE.

So my love story with KDE.Get Ready?Go!!

I start discover KDE in October 2006 during a university project in my IUP. Before starting enhance KDE, i was a non KDE-user. KDE wasn’t unknown for me because in my university some computers works with it and a long time ago i have installed a Mandrake version in my computer. The person in charge for these projects was Kevin Ottens, a PhD student and an active member of KDE. Two project was proposed : Kplato and Umbrello. The first is a project management application and the second an UML modeller. We were two teams with about five first master degree and five bachelor’s degree. I was working on Kplato to add functionalities like Pert View, Display Charts, and some useful functions. The project is finished since end of march and now what i do?
After march i still contribute in Kplato with Dag Andersen (a nice guy ;)) to help him. We were working on integrate new Gantt API and improve Panels. But my problem is I’m not actually a project manager and i’m not be able to find what is missing in Kplato.
During an Hacking Session (A monthly meeting where we hack on KDE), Kevin (or ervin) has explain to me what he did in KDE (he work on solid) and what i can do around solid, more exactly the notifier, the popup which appears when you plug an usb key or something like that. So i was totally in love to work on that thing and to work with my future master ERVIN!

I will explain in a next post what exactly i do in KDE and my impressions of my trip in Akademy (Annual meeting of KDE contributors).

Author: darktears

Software Engineer at Intel Corporation.

Leave a Reply

